Division of Astrophysics, Cosmology and Gravitation,

Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies

Welcome to Division of Astrophysics, Cosmology and Gravitation, Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies.

History of Astrophysics, Cosmology and Gravitation Activities in Asia Pacific Region

In the past two decades or so, there have been active activities in astrophysics, cosmology and gravitation in the Asia Pacific region. The main activities are International Conference on Gravitation, Astrophysics and Cosmology (ICGAC), Symposium on Cosmology and Particle Astrophysics (CosPA) and Asia Pacific School/Workshop on Gravitation and Cosmology (AP School on GC). The key members of ICGAC, CosPA and AP School on GC agreed to form the Division of Astrophysics, Cosmology and Gravitation (DACG). The main motivation for DACG formation is to coordinate many programs, promote collaborations, and exchange information about activities.
For that purpose, the main organizers of these activities were invited to form and also to recommend the representatives from their societies for the Executive Committee for DACG. Instead of subdivision for each topic, representatives*) from main societies have suggested for the Executive Committee: Chinese Physical Society in Beijing, Japan Physical Society, Korean Physical Society, Physical Society in Taipei, and Australian Institute of Physics-New Zealand Institute of Physics as the founding societies.
*)Here the "representatives" do not necessarily mean that they are officially approved by the member society to which they belong, but they may be representatives of relevant communities associated with the member society.

International Conference on Gravitation, Astrophysics and Cosmology

The previous ICGAC meetings were held in:
  1. Seoul (Korea), 1993
  2. Hsinchu (Taiwan), 1995
  3. Tokyo ( Japan), 1997
  4. Beijing (China), 1999)
  5. Moscow (Russia), 2001
  6. Seoul (Korea), 2003
  7. Jhongli (Taiwan), 2005
  8. Nara (Japan), 2007
  9. Wuhan (China), 2009
  10. Qui-Nhon (Vietnam), 2011
  11. Almaty (Kazakhstan), 2013
  12. Moskow (Russia), 2015*

International Advisory Committee in the AP region

  1. Australia: David Blair, Victor Flaumbaum and John Webb
  2. China: Rong-Gen Cai, Jun Luo, Xin-zhou Li
  3. India: Varun Sahni
  4. Japan: Yasunori Fujii, Masakatsu Kenmoku, Misao Sasaki and Katsuhiko Sato
  5. Korea: Yong-Min Cho, Sang-Pyo Kim and Sung-Won Kim
  6. Taiwan: Chiang-Mei Chen and James M. Nester
  7. Vietnam: Nguyen van Hieu, Pierre Darriulat

Symposium on Cosmology and Particle Astrophysics (CosPA)

The previous CosPA meetings were held at
  1. Taipei (Taiwan), 2002
  2. Taipei (Taiwan), 2003
  3. Taipei (Taiwan), 2006
  4. Taipei (Taiwan), 2007
  5. Pohang (Korea), 2008
  6. Melbourne (Australia), 2009
  7. Tokyo (Japan), 2010
  8. Beijing (China), 2011
  9. Hsinju (Taiwan), 2012
  10. Honolulu (Hawaii), 2013
  11. Auckland (New Zealand), 2014
  12. Daejeon (Korea), 2015*

Council Members

  1. Australia: Raymond Volkas (Vice-President)
  2. China: Bo-Qiang Ma
  3. Japan: Junfichi Yokoyama (President of APCosPA)
  4. Korea: Kiwoon Choi
  5. New Zealand: David Wiltshire
  6. Taiwan: Xiao-Gang He, Pauchy W-Y Hwang (Past President), Pisin Chen
  7. Hawaii: Sandip Pakvasa

General Assembly Members

  1. Australia: Nicole Belle
  2. China: Miao Li, Bin Wang, Zhi-Zhong Xing
  3. Japan: Takahiro Tanaka, Masahide Yamaguchi
  4. Korea: Sang Pyo Kim (Chairman of General Assembly), Changbom Park
  5. New Zealand: Richard Easther
  6. Taiwan: Paul Ho , Guey-Lin Lin
  7. Hawaii: Xerxes Tata
APCosPA has been publishing gThe Universe,h Newsletter/Journal since 2014 (Pauchy W-Y Hwang, Editor-in-Chief)

AP School on Gravitation and Cosmology

The previous AP Schools were held at
  1. Tainan (Taiwan), 2007
  2. Taitung (Taiwan), 2008
  3. Pohang (Korea), 2009
  4. Taitung (Taiwan), 2010
  5. Shanghai (China), 2011
  6. Kyoto (Japan), 2012
  7. Jeju Island (Korea), 2013
  8. Taipei (Taiwan), 2014
  9. Singapore, 2015*

International Committee

  1. China: Rong-Gen Cai (ITP), Sean Hayward (Shanghai Normal Univ.)
  2. Japan: Kei-ichi Maeda (Waseda Univ.), Misao Sasaki (YITP/Kyoto Univ.)
  3. Korea: Gungwon Kang (KISTI), Sang Pyo Kim (Kunsan National Univ.)
  4. Taiwan: James M.Nester (National Central Univ.), Hoi-Lai Yu (Academia Sinica)

Go back to top